The Australian College of Theology was constituted on 2 October 1891 by the General Synod of the Church of England in the Dioceses of Australia and Tasmania to foster and direct a systematic study of Divinity, especially among the Clergy.

The ACT operates in association with independent affiliated Christian colleges, each with their own church and agency stakeholders.