Contact us

Level 10, 257 Clarence Street
Sydney, NSW 2000

View map
ph (61 2) 9262 7890

ACT Staff and Directors

The Australian College of Theology is a national consortium of 17 Bible and theological colleges which deliver the awards of the College on its behalf. Academic governance is vested in the Board of Directors of the Australian College of Theology Ltd. The Dean and his staff, in association with the Board of Directors, manage the day-to-day operation of the College office.

Office Administration and External Relations:

Martin Sutherland, Dean
Rev Dr Martin Sutherland is the new Dean and CEO of ACT. He is responsible for the overall leadership of the team and the development of the college’s role in the region. He is married to Yvonne and they have three children and four grandchildren.

Dr Martin Sutherland

Vicki Chen, Director of Finance
Vicki joined the ACT team in June 2010. Her main role is managing the ACT’s finances.  This includes the administration and distribution of FEE-HELP funding from the Commonwealth Government to the affiliated colleges and management reporting. She is the Executive Officer for the Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Mary Ann Navidad, Financial Accountant
Mary Ann joined the ACT in March 2012 as a casual employee. She became a permanent part-time member of staff in December 2012.  Mary Ann processes payments, assists Vicki with ad hoc financial matters and is the Minute Taker for the Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Trish Ritchings, Office Administrator and Dean's Personal Assistant
Trish began working with the ACT team in August 2011. Her tasks include minute taking for the Academic Board and the Coursework Committee, database maintenance, the organisation of the day-to-day running of the office and providing secretarial assistance to the Dean and senior staff. She also helps with the academic functions of the college by assisting the Department of Academic Services as needed.

Learning, Teaching, Research and Scholarship:

Graeme Chatfield, Associate Dean and Director of Research
The Rev Dr Graeme Chatfield joined the ACT in January 2009. He has a PhD in Reformation Studies from Bristol University (UK). His key responsibilities are to facilitate the work of the Research and Research Studies Committee and foster research among affiliated colleges of the ACT.

Geoff Treloar, Director of Learning and Teaching
Dr Geoff Treloar began work in January 2012. His main role is to foster and enhance learning and teaching across the ACT network under the purview of the Coursework Committee. Geoff is the Executive Officer of the Coursework Committee and the Academic Board.

Elizabeth Kohn, Research Student and Events Administrator
Elizabeth's responsibilities include organising examiners for theses, maintaining student records for research candidates, and assisting with correspondence arising out of the Research and Research Studies Committee. Elizabeth is the Events Administrator for the Department of Learning, Teaching, Research and Scholarship.

Megan du Toit, Assistant to the Associate Dean
The Rev Megan du Toit joined the ACT in February 2016, working part-time. Her responsibilities include policy development, overseeing the ACT Monograph Series, publishing NEXUS, and assisting the Associate Dean in other research matters.

Academic Services:

Simon Davies, Director of Academic Services
Simon has been with the ACT since the beginning of 2005. Simon’s main tasks include maintaining the student information system and preparing reports and submissions for the ACT's boards, government departments, and affiliated colleges.  He manages the Department of Academic Services, and monitors student performance and liaises closely with affiliated college registrars. Simon holds a Master of Leadership (Higher Education) from the University of New England.

Paul Yeates, Quality Officer
Paul came to the team in October 2015. His main task is to oversee the ACT's quality management system, including monitoring of affiliated college engagement with academic data and unit field moderators' reports. Paul is the Executive Officer of the Academic Quality Committee.

Mary Ann Navidad, Overseas Student Liaison Officer; Academic Administrative Officer
Mary Ann assumed the part time role of Overseas Student Liaison Officer in January 2015, adding to her other roles in the ACT as Academic Administrative Officer and Financial Accountant.

Elisa Norris, Academic Administrative Officer
Elisa’s main roles include maintaining the student information system, assisting the Director of Academic Services and assisting in the reporting of ACT data to government bodies. She is also responsible for formatting of the College’s annual handbooks.

Diana Tadjudin, Academic Administrative Officer
Diana’s main tasks include maintaining the student information system and assisting the Director of Academic Services in academic functions of the College. She is also responsible for reporting and verifying ACT data to government bodies.

Meredith Walker-Harding, Projects Officer - Quality Assurance
Meredith joined the ACT team in April 2014, and works alongside the Quality Officer in the area of Quality Assurance. Meredith takes the minutes of the Academic Quality Committee, and assists the Quality Officer in the deployment, analysis and interpretation of academic data and processing unit field moderation reports.

The Board of Directors

The College is governed by the Board of Directors. The Board is the governing body of the College, and exercises day-to-day management and academic oversight of its academic enterprise. The Board is the final arbiter in matters concerning the eligibility of candidates, approval of new and review of existing courses, and the examination procedures and results. The current members of the Board are:

Mr Richard Cardew (Chair)
Formerly lecturer, Graduate School of the Environment and the Macquarie Graduate School of Management, both at Macquarie University

Bishop Tim Harris
Assistant Bishop in the Diocese of Adelaide with special responsibility for mission, evangelism and education.

Professor Anne Cusick (Chair of Academic Board)
Head, School of Health Sciences, University of Wollongong

Mr Greg Hammond
Senior Partner, King & Wood Mallesons

Professor Brett Inder
Professor in Econometrics at Monash University,
Director (Operations), Monash Centre for Development Economics and Sustainability

Rev Tim Meyers
Principal, Melbourne School of Theology

Mr Ian Miller
Director, Hammond Care
Partner, Hunt & Hunt Solicitors, Notary Public

Rev Dr Don West
Principal, Trinity Theological College

Mr Peter Young (Chair of Audit & Risk Management Committee)
Director, Northern Sydney Local Health District
Principal, Consulo Advisers – consulting in business strategy, transformation, growth and talent development

Back to top

Students: view your results online
(Most semester 2 results will be available from 13 December 2016)

Staff: login for resources

Affiliated Colleges



Copyright © 2014, Australian College of Theology Limited | ABN: 88 869 962 393 | ACN: 127 429 083 | CRICOS: 02650E
Design by: BENRDAVIS